Trans4mind Accueil

Transformer l'Esprit

next

Les deux façons de savoir

Une création est la personne qui peut traiter de façon nouvelle les informations directement à portée de la main - les données sensorielles ordinaires à la disposition de tous. Un écrivain a besoin des mots, un musicien a besoin des notes, un artiste a besoin perceptions visuelles, et tous besoin de connaître les techniques de leurs métiers. Mais en outre, dans le processus créatif, un deuxième mode de traitement mental a lieu: dans un état modifié de conscience, un individu perçoit intuitivement les possibilités de transformer les données ordinaires en une création originale.

Concepts de la dualité, de partialité ou de deux, de la nature humaine et la pensée ont été formulés par des philosophes et des scientifiques de différentes fois et cultures. L'idée maîtresse est que, il ya deux parallèles "modes de connaissance": la pensée et le sentiment, l'intelligence et l'intuition, une analyse objective et subjective de lucidité. Politique des écrivains dire que les gens analysent généralement les bons et les mauvais points d'une question et ensuite voter en leur intuition. L'histoire des sciences est remplie d'anecdotes sur les chercheurs qui tentent à plusieurs reprises à cerner un problème et ensuite fait un rêve dans lequel la réponse se présente comme une métaphore intuitivement compris par les scientifiques. Dans un autre contexte, une personne peut intuitivement sur un autre, "Les mots du son OK, mais quelque chose me dit de ne pas lui faire confiance": les deux parties du cerveau sont à l'œuvre, au traitement de la même information de différentes façons.

Le cerveau fonctionne très largement deux modes différents. La première "cerveau gauche" est le mode linéaire, logique, la pensée verbale, qui normalement nous identifier comme notre "esprit" - la "sémantique de programme 'du cortex hémisphérique gauche. Le deuxième "cerveau droit" mode est holistique, intuitif, non-verbale fonctionnement (on ne peut l'appeler 'la pensée' mais il est un moyen de savoir) de l'hémisphère droit. De ce que nous sommes habituellement pas conscients, sauf que les résultats de son fonctionnement, qui sont passés de l'hémisphère gauche pour l'interprétation analytique verbale.

Cette dualité de fonctionnement passe au-dessus de la manipulation d'objets par les mains. La main droite d'une personne (correspondant à l'activité dans l'hémisphère gauche du cortex), des contrôles détaillés amende mouvement, comme l'écriture, en ajustant les mécanismes, à l'aide d'outils ou de faire quoique ce soit qui nécessite une séquence d'actions. En attendant, la main gauche (correspondant à l'activité de l'hémisphère droit du cortex), établit et de point d'ancrage ou de référence.

Vous pourriez dire que le cerveau gauche est la craie et le tableau noir à droite du cerveau. Le côté droit est préoccupé par plan, le côté gauche, avec sa mise en action. Le côté gauche est linéaire, elle ne peut pas porter sur plus d'une chose à la fois, et il oublie les chaînes de mots ou de chiffres assez rapidement. Le côté droit détient la gestalt, la vue d'ensemble. On peut comparer beaucoup de choses en même temps et de sa mémoire des images, des sentiments et des émotions est permanente. C'est comme "la figure et le terrain", le sujet et le fond, a porté l'imagerie et perception globale.

Luria, le grand neurologue russe décrit dans son livre "Man with a Shattered monde." Il écrit d'un soldat qui a reçu une balle endommageant gravement le droit cortex, et pourtant l'homme a survécu, mais avec de très étranges expériences. Tout en mangeant la soupe, quand il s'est concentré sur la soupe à la cuillère disparu, quand il s'est concentré sur la cuillère à soupe de la disparue, et quand il s'est concentré sur la saveur de la salle entière a disparu!

Sans cette capacité, la musique ne serait pas possible. L'hémisphère gauche peut se concentrer sur une seule note à la fois, tandis que l'hémisphère droit est capable de regarder l'ensemble du contexte, de ce qui a été joué et anticipation de ce qui va suivre, telles que improvisation et affectif interprétation sont possibles. Considérant qu'un cerveau gauche dominante musicien pourrait simplement le réglage de l'instrument et de jouer des airs simples robotique.

Surtout notre conscience réside dans la gauche, de l'organisation hémisphère, mais cela ne signifie pas que le côté droit est inactif - il continue de briller comme les étoiles dans la journée, mais là inaperçue. Si l'hémisphère gauche est devenu excessivement l'hémisphère droit dominant a réduit occasion de partager dans la conscience, d'être bloquée dans diverses manières, et ne peut s'exprimer que dans le sub-conscient profondément fonctions (souvent qu'apparente dans les rêves). La pleine conscience résulterait de l'intégration d'une collaboration des deux types de procédés.

Comment de tels blocages se réalise est démontré dans l'exemple suivant. Imaginez l'effet sur un enfant lorsque sa mère présente un message verbalement, mais c'en est une autre de ses expressions faciales et le langage corporel. "je suis parce que tu ne fessée je t'aime, chers", déclare le dit, mais "je vous hais et vous détruira" dire le visage et le corps des coups. Chaque continent est exposé aux mêmes sensorielle, mais en raison de leurs spécialisations respectives, ils soulignent chacun l'un des messages. La gauche ne pourra assister à la verbaux, car il ne peut pas extraire des informations de la gestalt faciale sensations kinesthésiques et efficacement. Le droit assisteront à la non-verbaux parce qu'il est devenu spécialisées pour le faire et ne peut pas comprendre les paroles.

Dans cette situation, les deux hémisphères pourrait décider d'en face cours de l'action: la gauche à l'approche, le droit de fuir. Depuis la gauche est l'organisation de l'hémisphère il peut prendre le contrôle de la sortie des canaux la plupart du temps, mais si elle ne peut "éteindre" le droit complètement, il peut s'installer de débranchement des informations contradictoires provenant de l'autre côté. Le processus mental de l'hémisphère droit, coupé de cette façon de la conscience que l'hémisphère gauche est de diriger ouvertement comportement, peuvent néanmoins continuer une vie qui lui est propre. Le souvenir de la situation, le contenu émotionnel et le plan d'action frustrés peuvent tous persistent, affectant la perception et postérieure à la base des attentes et des futures évaluations d'entrée. Celles-ci peuvent avoir leur effet lorsque l'hémisphère droit n'est pas bloqué et irrationnel cause des interprétations erronées.

Lorsqu'une personne est dans le droit-cerveau mode de l'extrême émotion comme l'amour, la colère ou le chagrin, la douleur et l'émotion de l'expérience et de l'effort, mais il est impossible d'accéder à ces postulats, les conclusions et les autres verbalement et conceptuellement matière entreposée dans la gauche, Comme cela est au-dessous des limites de la conscience - une personne à surmonter est souvent sans voix.

À la suite de la plus commune à gauche du cerveau domination, les émotions devenu un symbole de mémoire ( "J'étais en colère") plutôt que le sentiment sensation de ce qui a été réellement vécu. La personne peut avoir une description verbale des événements mais n'est pas en mesure de l'expérience, l'émotion et la douleur de celui-ci. Les émotions douloureuses persuader l'hémisphère gauche-off de tenir le côté droit de la contribution habituelle. Finalement, avec nerveux réduit le trafic entre les hémisphères, les fibres nerveuses de la chaîne de connexion (le corps calleux) deviennent atrophiés avec désuétude (bien que cela puisse être stimulé à nouveau croître avec Transformational techniques de la psychologie) et le potentiel de la qualité de fonctionnement du cerveau est alors Retardés.

Parmi les causes fréquentes de ces blocages, c'est quand l'hémisphère droit qui contient les données sur la gauche trouve nettement inconfortables - telles que la vérité! Par exemple, le fait d'une mauvaise action peut être réprimée de cette manière, tout comme l'expérience que l'esprit trouve honteux, inacceptable ou unconfrontable. De même, les croyances profondes qui ont un fort investissement affectif dans des zones devenues inculpé l'hémisphère droit. La personne qui est laissée-dominante tend à être régi par des mots et des systèmes de croyances souvent à l'exclusion de la réalité extérieure, une personne avec un esprit intégrée utilise des mots comme ses préposés et est en contact avec la vérité de l'endroit où il se trouve.

La personne moyenne vit trop dans un état d'illusions sensorielles, de l'endoctrinement, de savoir précisément à quoi que ce soit, sauf rares, lucide intervalles. Transes sont beaucoup plus répandus qu'on ne le réalise, il ya rarement un "objectif" état de conscience. La plupart d'entre nous sommes dans une semi-réveil, semi-sommeil transe induit par notre culture et notre patrimoine génétique et le système de conviction personnelle. Pour devenir pleinement éveillé, nous devons être totalement conscients de tous les facteurs qui influent sur notre état de conscience quotidien.

Pendant plusieurs siècles, les soufis ont dit que l'homme doit apprendre à utiliser son esprit d'une manière différente s'il veut progresser. Que le chaînon manquant est récupéré holistique de l'intégration des fonctions du cerveau droit. Notre hémisphère droit, avec sa capacité d'apprécier un ensemble complexe, pour la reconnaissance faciale, la lecture des cartes, labyrinthe, la résolution prévoit le mode de compréhension.

Comment sommes-nous arrivés à cette façon? Gauche-encéphalique domination probablement apparue à cause d'un besoin essentiel pour survivre dans un monde physique. Elle a peut-être mis au point lorsque l'homme a changé l'alimentation de la simple collecte d'avoir à tuer pour survivre - notamment avoir à tuer d'autres personnes qui menacent sa survie ou le territoire. L'homme a dû s'organiser en groupes plus importants pour vivre. Il a dû renoncer à une partie de lui-même, de nier ses propres besoins et sentiments face à ceux de sa société. Et dans le but de tuer d'autres animaux et les humains, il exige une certaine forme de mécanisme de fermeture de permettre à de tels actes.

Le point sur le partage n'est qu'une partie de notre cerveau peut se sentir quelque chose de l'autre côté tandis que la pensée est quelque chose de très différent. La scission personne peut crier à vous et de ne pas savoir pourquoi il a fait cela, mais il parviendra à rationaliser ses actes et de rejeter la responsabilité sur d'autres. Avec cette division du cerveau, on peut penser une chose et faire une autre. Les sentiments peuvent être transmutée en forme symbolique, déconnectée de leur sentiment elaborateness les racines de la vie rituelle et symbolique étaient à la mesure de la perte de soi. Man pourrait alors meurtre d'autres pour des raisons religieuses ou de tuer les autres, quand l'état (une abstraction - pas lui-même) est menacée.

Comme l'homme est arrivé de renvoyer à l'autorité supérieure, sa symbolique et répressif hémisphère est devenu plus actif. Il a mis au point toutes sortes d'idées et de raisonnements qui étaient hors d'harmonie avec ses sentiments. La transe culturelle avait commencé.

Grâce à des milliers d'années nos ancêtres ajoutée à la domination du cerveau gauche parce que c'était la façon de faire les choses. Les deux spécialisations travailler efficacement, le droit de la main gauche soutenant l'utilisation des outils, y compris l'écriture. L'ensemble de notre système - livres, les écoles, les universités, l'industrie, les structures politiques, les églises - est fondamentalement gauche cerveaux dans l'apprentissage, d'application et de fonctionnement. Nous avons généralement considéré droite fonctions cérébrales avec méfiance, de frustration et de crainte.

En fait, nous utilisons notre droit du cerveau tout au long de notre vie quotidienne dans bien des façons subtiles. Alors que le cerveau gauche sert notre conscience, l'hémisphère droit du cerveau sert notre conscience. Bien que le cerveau gauche-semble prédominer et de coordonner le comportement général des deux moitiés, ce sont les indésirables mineurs qui voit les choses dans une perspective plus large. Il voit le contexte et les points de vue des parties d'un événement comme gestalt. Il est l'hémisphère droit du cerveau qui prend les faits élaboré par la gauche-encéphalique et peut faire des conclusions appropriées (connexions) de leur part. Il rend faits "significatif".

L'importance de comprendre notre double conscience, c'est qu'il est possible d'avoir des pensées qui n'ont rien à voir avec ce que l'on ressent, et d'essayer d'atteindre et de modifier pour le mieux à travers sa pensée et intellectuel appareil seul, sans référence à la nécessité Pour la connexion, est un exercice vain. La gauche du cerveau peut être tout à fait conscients du fait que le tabagisme cause le cancer, mais la personne aura encore sortir une cigarette. La personne est consciente, mais pas consciente.

GAUCHE DROIT
Description verbale, explicite

Linéaire - pensait à la suite d'un autre

Séquentiel, ordonné, compter

Rationnel, des conclusions fondées sur la raison

Résumé - qui représente un ensemble d'une partie

Conceptuel, mot-symbole

Pensée logique, l'analyse

Symbolisait, à l'évaluation des sentiments (tête)

Convergent, centrée (attention au détail)

Résout des problèmes en fonction des buts

Organise des actions, masculin

N'a heure actuelle, active, impliquée

Ends orienté, génisses

Imagines détails, fictionalises histoires

Court terme symbolique mémoire

Hostile faiblesse, la force sympathique

L'hypocrisie, du mensonge

Ego-conscience

Non verbale prise de conscience, implicite

Spatiale, relationnelle, holistique, la synthèse

Simultanées, spontanée

Non rationnelle, prêt à suspendre son jugement

Analogique - de voir les similitudes

Perceptif, le béton, image-symboles

Intuitif idées, les connexions

Affective sentiments et des émotions (cœur)

Divergentes, contextuelle (ignore détail)

Perçoit des problèmes

Solidaire, réceptifs, féminin

Offres avec le temps, de réflexion, objectif

Moyens de laquelle orienté, paratelic

Construit contextes, les hypothèses

À long terme perceptif mémoire

Friendly faiblesse, la force hostile

Authentique, véritable

Sous-conscience

Les moyens de défense: la falsification, la fabrication, erreur de posséder, d'invalider, ou fixateurs Blocs: répression, les retenues, nier ou accepté d'empreinte

L'homme est conscient, comme le sont les animaux, des stimuli externes, mais d'être conscient qu'il est conscient, à l'auto-conscience, l'introspection est la faculté qui lui sépare de l'animal. Mais il ne peut être utile que l'objectif de cette auto lors de ses sentiments et contextuelle compréhensions sont connectés et intégrés.

Logic est mentalement amende pour courir sur les erreurs du passé et d'anticiper l'avenir afin de ne pas commettre deux fois les mêmes bévues. Mais nous ne pouvons pas vivre dans la réalité ou l'autre de ces deux royaumes temps, et l'effort de le faire peut endommager la fois nos esprits et nos corps. Notre tâche est donc d'apprendre à nous libérer de la culture trance, la rêverie d'illusions, et avec un esprit éveillé, de vivre la vie d'aujourd'hui, en pleine conscience objective.

Dans notre vie quotidienne, nous la vie dans deux mondes simultanément, la gauche et la droite modes. Le mode de gauche est associée à la logique, la pensée linéaire, la rationalité, des horaires, le temps, le séquençage, les mesures, l'évidence, les noms, les dates, le raisonnement déductif - les choses que nous apprenons à l'école. Le droit est sur le mode de l'intuition, la compréhension holistique, mouvement expressif, de l'art, la poésie, les émotions, le caché, le déduit, et de l'imagerie - bref, il est le "ah-ha 'Etat. En thérapie, l'inconscient est le plus accessible par la route des images et des émotions, les réponses sont alors mis de l'inconscient que l'esprit rationnel ne seraient pas en mesure d'atteindre.

Le droit du cerveau, par sa nature même, ne peut pas mentir; gauche du cerveau est un expert à mentir - à fabriquer des réponses, raconter des histoires, de la rationalisation, et l'érection de blâmer tous les défenses de l'ego.

Comme nous converser en langage normal, nous disent les uns les autres tout ce que nous voulons: des détails, des sentiments à propos recevable, sociaux plaisanteries, les demi-vérités, des mensonges ou de tout ce que nous devons dire à fonctionner au quotidien au monde. Mais on ne peut pas vraiment dire ce que nous pensons - nous pouvons omettre l'information et de mensonge, dans le but de protéger les autres ou de nous-mêmes potentiellement blessantes vérités.

Nous sommes, quant à lui, toujours se dire que la vérité réprimée, à la fois sur notre réalité et consciente également relatifs à l'approfondissement de dimensions plus profond de nous-auto, en donnant des faits sur les événements et les informations sur nos motivations, mais cela peut ne pas être révélé par le biais de l'esprit conscient. Il est de notre directe des sentiments, en utilisant des images et des métaphores, et ne pas se maquiller avec plaisanteries. Les messages cachés se produisent surtout dans les moments où l'hémisphère droit du cerveau est stimulé: quand une personne est en exprimant ses émotions ou d'autonomie créative.

Donc, il n'ya plus besoin de mentir ou à faire semblant. De le faire est de soutenir la lutte pour le pouvoir, la tyrannie, une faible estime de soi et l'isolement. Inversement, la vérité nous rapproche, même si cela peut prendre plus de risques, d'ouverture et de la vulnérabilité. En tant qu'êtres humains, nous voulons être bien accueillie, de notre besoin d'être respecté, d'être en mesure d'être forte et de continuer d'être aimé, d'être reconnu pour qui nous sommes réellement. En étant honnête avec nos semblables et de nous-même, on peut souvent trouver un écho qui résonne dans le cœur de tout homme.


Allez au prochain article, L'espace symbolique

Retour à Transformer l'Esprit - Sommaire

Trans4mind Home Page
Support Trans4mind's mission...

Transforming the Mind ~ by Peter Shepherd


next

Two Ways of Knowing


A creative person is one who can process in new ways the information directly at hand - the ordinary sensory data available to us all. A writer needs words, a musician needs notes, an artist needs visual perceptions, and all need some knowledge of the techniques of their crafts. But in addition, in the creative process, a second mode of mental processing takes place: in an altered state of consciousness, an individual intuitively sees possibilities for transforming ordinary data into an original creation.

Concepts of the duality, or two-sidedness, of human nature and thought have been postulated by philosophers and scientists from many different times and cultures. The key idea is that there are two parallel 'ways of knowing': thinking and feeling, intellect and intuition, objective analysis and subjective insight. Political writers say that people generally analyze the good and bad points of an issue and then vote on their gut feelings. The history of science is replete with anecdotes about researchers who try repeatedly to figure out a problem and then have a dream in which the answer presents itself as a metaphor intuitively comprehended by the scientist. In another context, a person may intuit about another, 'The words sound OK, but something tells me not to trust him': both sides of the brain are at work, processing the same information in different ways.

The brain functions in broadly two quite different modes. The first 'left brain' mode is linear, logical, verbal thinking, which we normally identify as our 'mind' - the 'semantic program' of the left hemispherical cortex. The second 'right brain' mode is holistic, intuitive, non-verbal functioning (one cannot call it 'thinking' butit is a way of knowing) of the right hemisphere. Of this we are usually not consciously aware, except as the results of its functioning, which are passed over to the left hemisphere for analytic verbal interpretation.

This duality of functioning passes over to the manipulation of objects by the hands. The right hand of a person (controlled by the left brain) determines fine detailed movement, such as writing, adjusting mechanisms, using tools or doing anything that requires a sequence of actions. Meanwhile the left hand (controlled by the right brain) establishes an anchor point or reference.

You might say that the left brain is chalk and the right brain the blackboard. The left side is linear, it cannot deal with more than one thing at a time, and it forgets strings of words or numbers rather rapidly. The right side holds the gestalt, the overview. It can compare many things simultaneously and its memory of pictures, feelings and emotions is permanent. It is like 'figure and ground', subject and background, focused imaging and overall perception.

Luria, the great Russian neurologist describes this in his book 'Man with a Shattered World'. He writes of a soldier who received a bullet wound severely damaging the right cortex, yet the man survived, but with very strange experiences. While eating soup, when he concentrated on the soup the spoon disappeared, when he concentrated on the spoon the soup disappeared, and when he concentrated on the flavour the whole room disappeared!

Without this capability music would not be possible. The left hemisphere can concentrate on only one note at a time, while the right hemisphere is able to look at the overall context, of what has been played and anticipation of what is to follow, such that improvization and emotional interpretation are possible. Whereas a left-brain dominant musician could merely tune the instrument and play simple tunes robotically.

Mostly our consciousness resides in the left, organizing hemisphere but this does not mean that the right side is inactive - it continues like the shining of stars in the daytime, there but unperceived. If the left hemisphere has become excessively dominant the right hemisphere has reduced opportunity to share in consciousness, being blocked in various ways, and can only express itself in deeply Subconscious functions (often only apparent in dreams). Full consciousness would arise from a collaborative integration of the two sets of processes.

How such blockage comes about is demonstrated in the following example. Imagine the effect on a child when its mother presents one message verbally but quite another with her facial expression and body language. 'I am only spanking you because I love you, dear' says the words, but 'I hate you and will destroy you' say the face and body blows. Each hemisphere is exposed to the same sensory input, but because of their respective specializations they each emphasize one of the messages. The left will only attend to the verbal cues, because it cannot extract information from the facial gestalt and kinesthetic sensations efficiently. The right will attend to the non-verbal cues because it has become specialized to do this and cannot understand the words.

In this situation the two hemispheres might decide on opposite courses of action: the left to approach, the right to flee. Since the left is the organizing hemisphere it can take control of the output channels most of the time but if it cannot 'turn off' the right completely, it may settle for disconnecting the conflicting information from the other side. The mental process in the right hemisphere, cut off in this way from the left hemispheric consciousness that is directing overt behavior, may nevertheless continue a life of its own. The memory of the situation, the emotional content and the frustrated plan of action may all persist, affecting subsequent perception and forming the basis for expectations and evaluations of future input. These may have their effect when the right hemisphere is not blocked and cause irrational misinterpretations.

When a person is in a right-brain mode of extreme emotion such as love, rage or grief, the pain and emotion and effort is experienced but he is unable to access the postulates, conclusions and other verbally and conceptually stored material in the left, as this is below the boundaries of consciousness - a person overcome is often speechless.

As a result of the more common left-brain dominance, emotions become a symbolic memory ('I was angry') rather than the feeling sensation of what was actually experienced. The person may have a verbal description of events but is unable to experience the emotion and pain thereof. The painful emotions persuade the left hemisphere to hold-off the right side's contribution habitually. Eventually, with reduced nervous traffic between the hemispheres, the nerve fibres of the connecting channel (the corpus callosum) become atrophied with disuse (though this may be stimulated to re-grow with Transformational Psychology techniques) and the potential quality of brain functioning is then severely retarded.

A frequent cause of such blockage is when the right hemisphere contains data that the left finds distinctly uncomfortable - such as the truth! For example, the fact of a bad action may be repressed in this manner, as may any experience that the mind finds embarrassing, unacceptable or unconfrontable. Similarly, deeply held beliefs that have a strong emotional investment become charged areas in the right hemisphere. The person who is left-dominant tends to be governed by words and belief systems often to the exclusion of external reality; a person with an integrated mind uses words as his servants and is in touch with the truth of where he stands.

The average person lives too much in a state of sensory illusion, of indoctrination, to be clear about anything except at rare, lucid intervals. Trance states are much more prevalent than is generally realized; there is rarely an 'objective' state of consciousness. Most of us are in a semi-waking, semi-sleeping trance induced by our cultural and genetic heritage and our personal belief system. To become fully awakened we must be wholly aware of all the influences that bear upon our daily state of consciousness.

For many centuries the Sufis have said that man must learn to use his mind in a different way if he is to progress. That missing link is the recovered integration of holistic right brain functions. Our right hemisphere, with its capacity for appreciating a complex whole, for facial recognition, map reading, maze solving, provides the alternative mode of understanding.

How did we get this way? Left-brain dominance probably came about because of a basic need to survive in a physical world. It may have developed when man changed from simple food-gathering to having to kill for survival - including having to kill others who threatened his survival or territory. Man had to organize in larger groups in order to live. He had to give up part of himself, to deny his own needs and feelings in deference to those of his society. And in order to kill animals and other humans he required some sort of shut-off mechanism in allow such acts.

The point about the split is that one side of our brain can be feeling something while the other side is thinking something very different. The split person can yell at you and not know why he is doing it, though he will manage to rationalize his acts and put the blame on others. With that division of the brain one could think one thing and do another. Feelings could be transmuted into symbolic form, disconnected from their feeling roots - the elaborateness of the ritualistic and symbolic life being commensurate with the loss of self. Man could then murder others for religious reasons or kill others when the state (an abstraction - not himself) was threatened.

As man came to defer to higher authority, his symbolic and repressive hemisphere became more active. He developed all sorts of ideas and rationales that were out of keeping with his feelings. The cultural trance had begun.

Through thousands of years our ancestors added to left-brain dominance because that was the way to get things done. The two specializations work effectively, the left brain supporting the right hand's use of tools, including writing. Our entire system - books, schools, universities, industry, political structures, churches - is fundamentally left-brained in learning, application and operation. We have generally regarded right-brain functions with suspicion, frustration and awe.

In fact we use our right brain throughout our daily lives in many subtle ways. While the left-brain serves our consciousness, the right-brain serves our awareness. Though the left-brain seems to predominate and to coordinate general behavior from both halves, it is the minor side that sees things in a broader perspective. It sees the context and views the parts of an event as its gestalt. It is the right-brain that takes the facts worked out by the left-brain and can make proper conclusions (connections) from them. It makes facts 'meaningful'.

The importance of understanding our dual consciousness is that it is possible to have thoughts that have nothing to do with what one is feeling, and to try to reach and change someone for the better through his thoughts and intellectual apparatus alone, without reference to the necessity for connection, is a vain exercise. The left-brain can be quite aware that smoking causes cancer but the person will still pull out a cigarette. The person is aware but not conscious.

LEFT RIGHT
Verbal description, explicit

Linear - one thought following another

Sequential, orderly, counting

Rational, conclusions based on reason

Abstract - representing a whole by a part

Conceptual, word-symbols

Logical thought, analysis

Symbolised, evaluative feelings (head)

Convergent, focused (attends to detail)

Solves problems towards goals

organizes actions, masculine

Has only present time, active, involved

Ends oriented, telic

Imagines details, fictionalises stories

Short-term symbolical memory

Hostile weakness, friendly strength

Hypocritical, lying

Ego-consciousness

Non-verbal awareness, implicit

Spatial, relational, holistic, synthesising

Simultaneous, spontaneous

Non-rational, willing to suspend judgment

Analogical - seeing similarities

Perceptual, concrete, image-symbols

Intuitive ideas, connections

Affective feelings and emotion (heart)

Divergent , contextual (ignores detail)

Perceives problems

Supportive, receptive, feminine

Deals with time, reflective, objective

Means-whereby oriented, paratelic

Constructs contexts, assumptions

Long-term perceptual memory

Friendly weakness, hostile strength

Authentic, genuine

Sub-consciousness

Defenses: falsifying, fabricating,
mis-owning, invalidating, or fixating
Blocks: suppressing, withholding,
denying, or accepted imprinting

Man is conscious, as are animals, of external stimuli, but to be conscious that he is conscious, to be self-aware, is the introspective faculty that separates him from the animals. But he can only be meaningfully objective about that self when his feelings and contextual understandings are connected and integrated.

Logic is fine for mentally running over the mistakes of the past and for anticipating the future so that we do not commit the same blunders twice. But we cannot actually live in either of these two time realms, and the effort to do so may damage both our minds and bodies. Our task, then, is to learn to free ourselves from the cultural trance, the daydream of illusions, and with an awakened mind, live life today, in fully objective consciousness.

In our daily life we life in two worlds simultaneously, the left and right modes. The left mode is associated with logic, linear thinking, rationality, schedules, time, sequencing, measurements, the obvious, names, dates, deductive reasoning - the things we learn at school. The right mode is about intuition, holistic understanding, expressive movement, art, poetry, emotions, the hidden, the inferred, and imagery - in short, it is the 'ah-ha' state. In therapy, the unconscious is best accessed through the route of images and feelings; answers are then revealed from the unconscious that the rational mind would not otherwise be able to reach.

The right brain, by its very nature, cannot lie; the left brain is an expert at lying - at fabricating answers, telling stories, rationalising, blaming and erecting all of the Ego defenses.

As we converse in normal language, we tell each other anything we want to: details, about admissible feelings, social pleasantries, half-truths, lies or anything we need to say to function in the day to day world. But we may not say what we really think - we may omit information and lie, in order to protect others or ourselves from potentially hurtful truths.

We are, meanwhile, always telling ourselves the repressed truth, both about our conscious reality and also relating to the deeper dimensions of our innermost Self, giving facts about events and information about our motives, but this may not be revealed through the conscious mind. It is our direct feelings, utilizing images and metaphors, and does not disguise itself with pleasantries. The hidden messages occur especially at times when the right-brain is stimulated: when a person is expressing his or her Self emotionally or creatively.

So there is no more need to lie or pretend. To do so is to support power struggle, tyranny, low self-esteem and isolation. Truth conversely brings us closer, though it might take more risk, openness and vulnerability. As human beings we want to be welcomed, for our needs to be honoured, to be able to be strong and still be loved, to be recognized for who we really are. By being honest with our fellow beings and our selves, we can often strike a chord that resonates in every human heart.


Move on to Symbol Space

Return to Transforming the Mind - Contents


personal development
MOST SHARED ON TRANS4MIND.COM THIS WEEK...

Most popular hypnosis downloads...

  • The Next Level ~ Designed to radically boost your performance in any field. It's based on a technique used by top athletes and other successful people to help them make a big stride forward.
  • Create Your Own Reality ~ Use the power of your unconscious mind to transform your life.
  • Deeper Self Respect ~ Use hypnosis to connect with your true inner worth.
  • Detach From Fear ~ Tune out nervousness and anxiety with hypnosis.
  • Generalized Anxiety Treatment ~ Use hypnosis as a generalized anxiety disorder treatment and you can feel calm today.
  • Improving Concentration and Focus ~ Learn how to discipline, direct and command your mind to improve your performance.
  • Exercise Motivation ~ Give you powerful keys to getting back on track with your exercise - and staying there.
  • Overcoming Shyness ~ Provides an invisible security blanket allowing you to develop social ease and overcome shyness.
  • Quick Confidence Booster ~ An audio hypnosis session that's specifically designed to get you (quickly!) back on track.
  • Stop Negative Thoughts ~ Learn powerful hypnotic techniques to stop negative thoughts before they start.
  • Overcoming Procrastination ~ Let hypnosis help you get on with what you need to do, when you need to do it. Let nothing hold you back.
  • Think Thin ~ Use hypnosis to re-train your brain and lose weight naturally... that's how to get and stay slim.
  • Fall Asleep Fast ~ Relearn how to fall asleep fast and enjoy a good night's sleep.

Click here to go to Centerpointe
Holosync is the most powerful meditation, personal growth and mind development tool available. Meditating with the aid of Holosync is effortless and deeply relaxing - plus it enables you to make quantum leaps in awareness and emotional health...
Check out the Holosync Solution

Inspiring Quotes of the Week

When you subscribe to our free service, each Tuesday you'll receive several transformational quotes on a new topic - with commentary by Peter Shepherd - to inspire you throughout the week...
Plus an excellent article on the topic and news of the latest additions to Trans4mind ...with special offers on our products!
Subscribe now... it's free!

Your address will remain 100% confidential
and it's just one click to unsubscribe.
SPECIAL BONUS FOR SUBSCRIBERS!
Transformational eBook Library... a collection of 40 PDFs for you to download that will really help to turn your life around!
eLibrary
World of Inspiration eLibrary
Get exclusive access to the eLibrary... an entire world of personal development resources - and its all waiting for you to explore!
This is an astonishing resource with thousands of quality personal development and spiritual ebooks, courses, websites and full-length ebooks - many made especially available for this library. Gigabytes of great info... everyone who joins is amazed at the breadth and depth of content. If you're a curious person, open minded and want to learn - then this is for you!
"WOW! This collection is probably the best money I ever spent! I've already received many times over in personal enrichment after just 9 days."~ J.S. (Pennsylvania, USA)
Our free meditation program to awaken heart-consciousness...
Love is All You Need
Trans4mind
Our videos on YouTube...Follow Trans4mind on TwitterCheckout Trans4mind at Facebook
MANY RESOURCES arrow   OUR PRODUCTS arrow
Copyright © 1997-2014 Trans4mind Ltd