Trans4mind Accueil

Transformer l'Esprit

backnext

Volición

Renversement théorie comme décrit précédemment fournit un cadre conceptuel à l'intérieur duquel une grande variété de motivations particulières, les émotions et les problèmes psychologiques ont leur place et peuvent être compris. Mais il en existe d'autres qui ne sont pas couverte, et ceux-ci ont tous à voir avec les relations interpersonnelles - par exemple, de telles émotions comme l'amour et la haine, la gratitude et de la culpabilité, de dévouement et de l'humiliation.

La structure de base de la théorie doit donc être prolongé. Avec paratelic génisses et les modes de fonctionnement, d'autres états de motivation qui ont tendance à inverser dans les deux sens sont:

Dans chacune de ces paires d'états, il faut être connu l'un ou l'autre des dichotomies à un moment donné, et si elles sont mutuellement exclusives. Les paires d'états de motivation, cependant, sont toujours en place et d'accompagner et d'interagir les uns avec les autres.

Le concept de l'auto (par exemple, "estime de soi") est la suivante: la totalité des attitudes, les jugements et les valeurs d'un individu ayant trait à son comportement, les capacités et les qualités. Un tel concept est assez durable. En revanche, l'auto ou le ton des sentiments (par exemple, "ton hédoniste ') sont fortement tributaires de l'évolution de la situation momentanée, et, par conséquent, ont tendance à être toujours en mouvement. Par exemple, on peut présenter une faible estime de soi comme un joueur de tennis, mais n'ont agréable sur ton auto particulier celles reprises dans un jeu quand on gagne un point. Les sentiments impliquer un sentiment de valeur personnelle.

La maîtrise de l'Etat peut être défini comme un mode dans lequel agréable ton auto découle du sentiment d'être en contrôle. Auto ton désagréable dans ce mode est associé à la sensation d'incompétence, de la faiblesse ou de qualité inférieure.

La sympathie état peut être défini comme un mode dans lequel agréable ton auto découle du sentiment d'être aimé. Auto ton désagréable dans ce mode est associé à la sensation déplu, négligés ou peu attrayantes.

La maîtrise et la sympathie pays diffèrent les uns des autres surtout dans la manière dont l'individu interprète les résultats des opérations entre lui-même et les "autres", ce qui se traduit par une perte nette ou un gain net:

Pourquoi est-il bon de faire un gain net? Une des raisons en est la réalisation de l'objectif de génisses dans l'état (ce qui peut accompagner un cours de maîtrise ou de sympathie état) donne la satisfaction d'un résultat escompté et un autre est que dans la maîtrise état il peut être considéré comme la preuve du pouvoir personnel, la force et l'habileté, Et dans l'état de sympathie personnelle comme preuve de l'attractivité. Les deux manières qu'elle améliore l'auto-ton et concomitante de la valeur des sentiments

L'envie et la jalousie se posent lorsque l'autre fait un gain net au détriment de soi-même. Envy apparaît comme une maîtrise version de cette émotion, dans laquelle l'autre personne ou prend réalise avec succès et peut donc être vécu comme plus fort que soi-même. La jalousie se produit dans la sympathie état dans lequel une personne est l'attention accordée au détriment de soi-même et peut donc être vécue comme aimait plus que soi-même.

Dans les auto-déterminée état, la source de ton auto est en soi, l'autorégulation volontaire. Mais il est aussi possible de la source ou à ton gré de l'auto à être transféré à une autre identité, c'est-à-dire une expérience, le ton que l'autre personne semble avoir connu - l'un est devenu "autre-déterminée." L'autre personne est en colère contre moi, afin que je les accepte comme valable et se sentir en colère contre moi-même, il est en colère avec les autres, de sorte que je suis en colère contre eux. J'ai identifié à l'autre personne.

Rendement donnée dans l'autre Etat est déterminé maintenant agréable plutôt que désagréables, par exemple, un soldat vif enthousiasme soumettant à la discipline, et cela est vrai aussi de donner, par exemple, une mère s'occupe de son enfant avec tendresse amoureuse.

Auto-déterminé (Cause)Autre-déterminé (Effet)
MAITRISEÀ la maîtrisePour être maîtrisé
CONDOLEANCESPour sympathise avecPour sympathise

Si l'objectif de maîtrise de l'État dans l'auto-version est déterminé à maîtriser une autre personne (ou d'un objet ou d'une situation) et ainsi de se sentir forts, dans l'autre Etat-il est déterminé à maîtriser de sorte que ce sont les autres qui en L'autorégulation volontaire qui réside temporairement se sentent forts. Donc, paradoxalement, on gagne par une perte nette pour les transactions - en présentant en vient à se sentir forts, par exemple un adolescent qui idolises le chef d'une bande à laquelle il appartient.

De même, lorsque l'objectif de l'état de sympathie dans les autres cas est déterminé à être sympathisaient avec, de façon à se sentir aimé, dans le cas d'auto-déterminé, il est à sympathiser avec une autre personne de sorte que c'est cette autre personne qui Se sentir aimé (et donc on va profiter de soi-même le sentiment d'être aimé par l'identification) par exemple, une femme peut en tirer du plaisir à être un "tour de force" à son mari. C'est peut-être l'essence même de l'altruisme.

Pour aider à faire de cette description un peu plus concret, il y suit une série d'exemples de situations dans lesquelles on aurait sans doute au-dessus de l'expérience états de motivation. Par souci de simplicité, chaque exemple est rapporté en termes de succès et seraient donc associés à l'autonomie renforcée ton. Si le résultat est désagréable serait alors l'un dans l'autre côté de la dichotomie.

Auto-déterminés:Autres-déterminés:
MAITRISE
Bénéficiant d'une transaction commerciale,
Vaincre quelqu'un dans un jeu
La maîtrise des équipements complexes
De maîtriser un problème intellectuel
Donner un employé commandes
MAITRISE
Etant donné un cadeau
Après avoir écouté votre histoire lors d'une fête
Accepter de l'aide quand des ennuis
Pris en charge en cas de maladie
Ecouter de bons conseils
CONDOLEANCES
Présentation de l'argent à un organisme de bienfaisance
Donner un cadeau à un enfant
Prenant un intérêt à quelqu'un
Plutôt un jardin
Acheter un ami boire un verre
CONDOLEANCES
Soumettant à la discipline dans l'armée
Affichage de la solidarité dans un syndicat
Accepter le dogme d'une religion
Conforme comme un musicien à un chef d'orchestre
En cours de rituels avilissants pour rejoindre

Pris ensemble, ces deux matrices d'affichage de la structure des relations qui sous-tendent huit distinguées, et contrastées, les types de sentiment. Cela peut être poussée plus loin en intégrant une dernière dichotomie: par opposition à la négativité conforme. Cela entre en jeu lorsque surviennent des sentiments déplaisants, comme suit:

Dans les auto-déterminée maîtrise état, si l'on prouve soi-même supérieur, alors on est susceptible d'en être fiers, si, toutefois, on finit dans une position d'infériorité, on va souffrir d'humiliation dans une certaine mesure, d'un ton désagréable auto. Humiliation diffère de l'humilité, de subordination, de la soumission, de servilité de service, et que l'ancien, dans chaque cas, est un impact indésirable sur l'auto-déterminisme, et la seconde réflexion de l'une d'entre-autres déterminer la maîtrise.

Dans l'autre version de déterminer le mode de la maîtrise, puis, si l'on soumet volontairement à une personne plus forte alors on se sent humble, de l'admiration pour l'autre. Si, d'autre part, l'autre personne qui, en définitive, exasperatingly, à être plus faible que soi-même, en dépit de tous ses efforts pour soutenir cette personne, alors on risque de se sentir désespérément méprisant et dédaigneux à leur égard.

Dans les auto-déterminée sympathie état, on se sent heureux d'être donnée sympathie et aimé, en revanche, on se sent lésé (blessé, affronted,…) si l'on ne se donne pas ces choses, ou même si l'on finit par leur donner Soi-même.

Dans un état de la sympathie envers les sentiments de l'autre, dans les autres cas déterminés, être celles de solicitousness et de tendresse, et si l'on parvient à soigner et à donner, le résultat sera un agréable sentiment d'auto-satisfaction, de la vertu et même de l'auto - La droiture. Si l'on omet de ne pas être capable de nourrir l'autre, ou encore en faisant un gain net de l'opération, alors on se sent coupable et honteux à la suite (ou de l'expérience un sens d'obligation) - ce qui est évidemment une mauvaise forme De l'auto ton.

La maîtrise et la sympathie des États peuvent chacune se produisent en association avec soit les génisses ou paratelic état, donc l'interaction peut être perçue comme étant soit grave (génisses) ou ludique (paratelic). Par exemple, on peut jouir de l'humiliation d'être abusés ou taquiner la condition que l'un reste dans le mode paratelic.

A ce point, le conformiste contre negativistic dichotomie sur les images. Si l'une des désagréables résultats mentionnés ci-dessus, ayant été d'abord accepté dans le mode conformiste, se poursuit depuis trop longtemps, de la frustration et peuvent induire induire negativistic la mode comme un rejet de ce résultat. Chacune des émotions désagréables sera converti en un peu différente émotion par l'avènement de l'negativistic mode:

CONFORMISTNEGATIVISTIC
MAITRISEAuto-déterminés:HumiliéLésée
Autres-déterminés:MéprisantCoupable
CONDOLEANCESAuto-déterminés:DefiantHaïssant
Autres-déterminés:L'auto-dénigrement ou commisesSelf-haine ou Devoted

Ainsi, l'humiliation devient mépris, et le sentiment d'être lésée devient ressentiment et même de haine. Une chose que cette analyse contribue à rendre clair, c'est que l'amour et la haine sont des sentiments de sympathie, se référant à la reconnaissance ou à l'auto-satisfaction d'avoir été donnée, et de la réaction négative à aggrievement de ne pas avoir été donnée (comme l'attention, de l'admiration, caresser ), Ou elles peuvent se rapporter à une désintéressé de donner et de l'auto-haine comme une réaction négative si ce n'est pas possible. De même, la maîtrise version de l'amour est la luxure et cela peut impliquer soit la quête de la domination ou de soumission.

Dans les autres domaines déterminés par l'Etat sont un peu plus complexe en ce sens que le négativisme peut viser l'autre personne ou contre soi-même en fonction de ce qui est considéré comme la source de l'échec. Ainsi, le mépris envers une personne qui ne parvient pas à dominer soi-même peut conduire à une auto-dénigrement et de l'auto-humiliation dans une tentative désespérée pour faire plus fort que l'autre personne, ou elle peut conduire à un redoublement des efforts visant à "créer" de cette personne - qui peut Être décrit comme un passionné d'engagement ou de loyauté envers lui.

De même culpabilité peut conduire soit à une forme d'auto-haine qui nie soi-même ce que l'on a été donnée, ou à un redoublement de ses efforts visant à donner, ce qui peut être décrit comme la dévotion à l'autre personne. Paradoxalement, alors, l'engagement et la dévotion, ce qui en général semblent être "positive" des émotions, dégagent de cette analyse comme "négative" d'émotions qui tire une grande partie de leur force de l'ajout de pouvoirs de négativisme à la situation. Si l'excitation est élevé généré celles-ci seront expérimentés dans le negativistic état d'un ton furieux. En outre, toutes ces émotions négatives peuvent aussi être expérimentés avec un certain plaisir ludique ou si l'état paratelic peut être maintenue.


Allez au prochain article, Pan-déterminisme

Retour à Transformer l'Esprit - Sommairenext

Trans4mind Home Page

Transforming the Mind ~ by Peter Shepherd


backnext

Volition


Reversal theory as described previously provides a conceptual framework within which a wide variety of particular motives, emotions and psychological problems have their place and can be understood. However there are others that are not encompassed, and these all have to do with interpersonal relations - for example such emotions as love and hate, gratitude and guilt, devotion and humiliation.

The basic structure of the theory therefore has to be extended. Along with telic and paratelic modes of operation, other motivational states that tend to reverse back and forth are:

In each of these pairs of states, one must be experiencing one or other of the dichotomies at any particular time, and so they are mutually exclusive. The pairs of motivational states, though, are always in place and accompany and interact with each other.

The self concept (such as 'self-esteem') is: the totality of attitudes, judgments and values of an individual relating to his behavior, abilities and qualities. Such a concept is fairly enduring. In contrast, self feelings or tone (such as 'hedonic tone') are strongly dependent on momentary changes of situation, and therefore tend to be always on the move. For example, one may have low self esteem as a tennis player, but have pleasant self tone on those particular occasions in a game when one wins a point. The feelings involve an immediate sense of personal worth.

The mastery state can be defined as a mode in which pleasant self tone derives from the feeling of being in control. Unpleasant self tone in this mode is associated with feeling incompetent, weak or inferior.

The sympathy state can be defined as a mode in which pleasant self tone derives from the feeling of being liked. Unpleasant self tone in this mode is associated with feeling disliked, uncared for or unattractive.

Mastery and sympathy states differ from each other primarily in the way that the individual interprets the outcome of transactions between himself and the 'other', resulting in a net loss or a net gain:

Why is it good to make a net gain? One reason is goal achievement in the telic state (that may of course accompany a mastery or sympathy state) provides the satisfaction of an intended outcome; another is that in the mastery state it can be taken as evidence of personal power, strength and skill, and in the sympathy state as evidence of personal attractiveness. Both ways it enhances self-tone and concomitant feelings of worth

Envy and jealousy arise when another makes a net gain at the expense of oneself. Envy would appear to be a mastery version of this emotion, in which the other person successfully takes or achieves and can therefore be experienced as stronger than oneself. Jealousy occurs in the sympathy state, in which someone is given attention at the expense of oneself and can therefore be experienced as more liked than oneself.

In the self-determined state, the source of self tone is within oneself, the volitional self. But it is also possible for the source or volition of self tone to be transferred to another's identity, i.e. one experiences the tone that the other person appears to be experiencing - one has become 'other-determined'. The other person is angry with me, so I accept that as valid and feel angry with myself; he is angry with others so I am angry with them too. I have identified with the other person.

Yielding-up in the other-determined state is now pleasant rather than unpleasant, e.g. a keen soldier enthusiastically submitting to discipline, and this is true too of giving, e.g. a mother looking after her child with loving tenderness.

  MASTERY SYMPATHY
Self-determined (Cause) To masterTo sympathise with
Other-determined (Effect) To be masteredTo sympathise

While the aim of the mastery state in the self-determined version is to master some other person (or object or situation) and thereby to feel strong, in the other-determined state it is to be mastered so that it is the other in whom the volitional self temporarily resides who will feel strong. So paradoxically, one gains by making a net loss in transactions - by submitting one comes to feel strong e.g. a teenager who idolises the leader of a gang to which he belongs.

Similarly, where the aim of the sympathy state in the other-determined case is to be sympathized with, so as to feel liked, in the self-determined case it is to sympathize with some other person so that it is this other person who will feel liked (and therefore one will oneself enjoy the feeling of being liked through identification) e.g. a wife may derive pleasure from being a 'tower of strength' to her husband. This is perhaps the essence of altruism.

To help make this description a little more concrete, there follows a set of examples of situations in which one would probably experience the above motivational states. For simplicity, each example is put in terms of success and would therefore be associated with enhanced self tone. If the outcome was unpleasant then one would be in the other side of the dichotomy.

MASTERY SYMPATHY
SELF-DETERMINED: Profiting from a business transaction

Defeating someone in a game

Controlling complex equipment

Mastering an intellectual problem

Giving an employee orders

Presenting money to a charity

Giving a present to a child

Taking an interest in someone

Tending a garden

Buying a friend a drink

OTHER-DETERMINED: Being given a present

Having your story listened to at a party

Accepting help when in trouble

Being cared for when ill

Listening to good advice

Submitting to discipline in the army

Displaying solidarity in a trade union

Accepting the dogma of a religion

Conforming as a musician to a conductor

Undergoing demeaning rituals to join

Taken together, these two matrices display the structure of relationships that underlie eight distinguishable, and contrasting, types of feeling. This can be taken further by incorporating a final dichotomy: negativity as opposed to conforming. This comes into play when unpleasant feelings arise, as follows:

In the self-determined mastery state, if one proves oneself superior, then one is likely to feel proud; if, however, one finishes up in a position of inferiority, one will suffer humiliation to some extent, an unpleasant self tone. Humiliation differs from humility, subordination from submission, subservience from service, in that the former in each case is an undesired impingement on self-determinism, and the latter a desired reflection of other-determined mastery.

In the other-determined version of the mastery mode, then, if one willingly submits to a stronger person then one feels humble, with admiration for the other. If, on the other hand, the other person turns out, exasperatingly, to be weaker than oneself, despite all one's efforts to bolster this person up, then one is likely to feel despairingly contemptuous and disdainful towards them.

In the self-determined sympathy state, one feels grateful for being given sympathy and liked; in contrast, one will feel aggrieved (hurt, affronted, etc.) if one is not given these things, or if one even finishes up by giving them oneself.

In the sympathy state one's feelings towards the other will, in the other-determined case, be ones of solicitousness and tenderness, and if one succeeds in caring and giving, the result will be a pleasant feeling of self-satisfaction, virtue and even self-righteousness. If one fails by not being able to nurture the other, or even by making a net gain from the transaction, then one will feel guilty and ashamed as a result (or experience some sense of obligation) - and this is of course an unpleasant form of self tone.

The mastery and sympathy states can each occur in association with either the telic or paratelic state, so the interaction can be perceived as either serious (telic) or playful (paratelic). For example one may enjoy the humiliation of being tricked or teased provided one stays in the paratelic mode.

At this point the conformist versus negativistic dichotomy comes into the picture. If one of the unpleasant outcomes mentioned above, having been at first accepted in the conformist mode, is continued for too long, frustration may build up and induce the negativistic mode as a rejection of that outcome. Each of the unpleasant emotions will be converted into a rather different emotion by the advent of the negativistic mode:

CONFORMIST

MASTERY SYMPATHY
SELF-DETERMINED: HumiliatedAggrieved
OTHER-DETERMINED: ContemptuousGuilty

NEGATIVISTIC

MASTERY SYMPATHY
SELF-DETERMINED: DefiantHating
OTHER-DETERMINED: Self-denigrating or CommittedSelf-hating or Devoted

Thus humiliation becomes defiance, and the feeling of being aggrieved becomes resentment and even hate. One thing that this analysis helps to make clear is that love and hate are sympathy emotions, referring to gratitude or self-satisfaction at having been given, and to the negative reaction to aggrievement at not having been given (such as attention, admiration, stroking); or they may relate to an unselfish giving and self-hatred as a negative reaction if this isn't possible. Similarly the mastery version of love is lust and this can either involve the quest for domination or submission.

In the other-determined state matters are a little more complex in that the negativism may be directed at the other person or against oneself depending on which is seen as the source of the failure. Thus contempt towards someone who fails to dominate oneself can lead to either self-denigration and self-abasement in a desperate attempt to make the other person stronger, or it can lead to a redoubling of effort to 'build up' that person - that can be described as a passionate commitment or loyalty to him or her.

Likewise guilt can lead either to a form of self-hate in which one denies oneself what one has been given, or to a redoubling of one's efforts to give, that can be described as devotion to the other person. Paradoxically, then, commitment and devotion, which generally seem to be 'positive' emotions, emerge from this analysis as 'negative' emotions that derive much of their special strength from the addition of powers of negativism to the situation. If high arousal is generated these will be experienced in the negativistic state with an angry tone. In addition, all of these negative emotions may also be experienced with some pleasure or playfulness if the paratelic state can be maintained.


Move on to Pan-Determinism

Return to Transforming the Mind - Contentsnext

Most popular hypnosis downloads...

Search now on an issue that interests or concerns you...
 

Welcome to the New Wave in Meditation Technology
Click here to learn more about the iAwake Profound Meditation Program
The iAwake Profound Meditation Program is a way of enhancing your meditation practice, making meditation not only easier and more enjoyable, but also more efficient and effective.
We believe that technology can be used in a wise and balanced way to improve our lives. That’s why we recommend using Profound Meditation in conjunction with your preferred meditation technique. That could involve breath awareness, witnessing, visualization, mantra, or any other form. In the User Guide, iAwake provide simple meditation instructions that anyone can follow.
Profound Meditation 3.0 includes 19 audio tracks, 430 total minutes and is available for instant download. It provides the smoothest, deepest, richest, most profound meditation experience available anywhere...
Click here to learn more about the Profound Meditation 3.0 program
Download your free 20-minute iAwake demonstration track

Inspiring Quotes of the Week

When you subscribe to our free service, each Monday you'll receive several transformational quotes on a new topic - with commentary by Peter Shepherd - to inspire you throughout the week...
Subscribe now... it's free!

Your address will remain 100% confidential and it's just one click to unsubscribe.
Previous Inspiring Quotes of the Week
“I want to congratulate you for Trans4mind! It's a mind blowing platform, I swear! I also want to thank you for the amazingly true and revolutionizing messages of love you've shared in your weekly email! I believe the domestic world, and also people as a race, can change fundamentally if they see through their thoughts, words and actions in the light of these messages! Every week, along with the others, I await your inspiring messages and can't thank you enough for giving us this invaluable gift so unconditionally and relentlessly!” ~ Sunetra